

e-mail: tughill@tughill.org website: www.tughill.org

Chair

Geraldine J. Ritter

Vice Chair

William W. Scriber

Secretary

Thomas E. Boxberger

Members

Jan J. Bogdanowicz Leona M. Chereshnoski Robert K. Keller Michael G. Yerdon, Sr.

Executive Director Katie Malinowski

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 24, 2025

CONTACT: Katie Malinowski, Executive Director

(315) 778-4193, katie@tughill.org

Tug Hill Commission Elects Officers for 2025-26

WATERTOWN, NEW YORK – The Tug Hill Commission elected officers for the 2025-26 term at its first business meeting of 2025, held in Parish in January. The new Tug Hill Commission chair is Geraldine (Gerry) Ritter, from Forestport, Oneida County; the new Tug Hill Commission vice chair is William (Bill) Scriber from Parish, Oswego County; and Tom Boxberger, from Watertown, Jefferson County, was reelected as the Tug Hill Commission secretary.

Gerry has served on the Tug Hill Commission's board since July 2017. She has held various positions with the town of Forestport, including the planning board chair, and retired from the Tug Hill Commission in 2014 as the municipal management consultant (i.e. circuit rider) for the Northern Oneida County Council of Governments. She was recognized by the Genesis Group of the Mohawk Valley as a community leader and received the Joseph Carucci Legacy Award in 2014. Gerry is the first woman to serve as the chair of the Tug Hill Commission.

Bill has also served on the Tug Hill Commission's board since July 2017. He is the planning board chair in Parish and has been for many years, and previously served as the town's supervisor. He retired in December 2024 as the executive director of the Port of Oswego Authority, overseeing a period of growth for the port. Bill has experience on many other boards, including the APW School District, Oswego County BOCES, and SUNY Oswego.

Tom has served on the Tug Hill Commission's board since 2008, and has filled the role of secretary since 2010. He is the planning board co-chair in Watertown, and also serves on the Jefferson County Soil & Water Conservation District board and the State Civil Service

Employees Federal Credit Union board. Tom retired from the NYS Department of Health in 2008.

The board and commission executive director Katie Malinowski extended sincere thanks to Jan Bogdanowicz and Mike Yerdon for their service as board chair and vice chair for the past 12 years. Both will continue to serve as board members, along with Leona Chereshnoski and Bob Keller.

Captions for photos:



Jan Bogdanowicz passes the gavel to Gerry Ritter.



The 2025-26 Tug Hill Commission board. Front row left to right: Tom Boxberger, Gerry Ritter, Leona Chereshnoski, Mike Yerdon. Back row left to right: Bill Scriber, Jan Bogdanowicz, Bob Keller.

###

The New York State Tug Hill Commission is a non-regulatory state agency charged with helping local governments, organizations, and citizens shape the future of the region, especially its environment and economy. The commission uses a grassroots approach to build local capacity and provide technical assistance in land use planning, community development, and natural resource management.