

e-mail: tughill@tughill.org

315-785-2574 (fax) website: www.tughill.org

Chairman

Jan J. Bogdanowicz

Vice Chairman

Michael G. Yerdon, Sr.

**Secretary** 

Thomas E. Boxberger

**Members** 

Leona M. Chereshnoski Roger W. Maciejko Geraldine J. Ritter William W. Scriber

**Executive Director** 

Katie Malinowski

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 25, 2022

CONTACT: Katie Malinowski, Executive Director

(315) 778-4193, katie@tughill.org

## **Tug Hill Commission Annual Dinner** Villages of Carthage, Copenhagen and Deferiet Receive Awards

Carthage, NY – Around 90 people, including commission board members, staff, alumni, state representatives and local government and councils of government officials, joined together on October 20 for the Tug Hill Commission's annual dinner. The event was held at Zero Dock Street on the banks of the Black River in Carthage, with entertainment provided by Cincinnati Creek.

Chairman Jan Bogdanowicz opened the meeting with reflections on the beginnings of the Tug Hill Commission in 1972 and announced 2023 as a year of celebration when the commission enters its 50<sup>th</sup> year of service to the Tug Hill region. Executive Director Katie Malinowski reviewed accomplishments over the past year and awarded the 2022 Tug Hill Community Recognition Awards to the villages of Carthage, Copenhagen, and Deferiet. The three villages, working in close partnership with BOCES, improved their communities with board walks, benches, picnic tables and more to encourage residents and visitors to walk and enjoy everything these villages have to offer. Carthage President Wayne McIlroy was also recognized for his decades of service to the River Area Council of Governments and the village of Carthage, as he retires at the end of this year.

The evening was rounded out with a presentation by Jason Wagner, Natural Resources Chief at Fort Drum. The theme of Jason's presentation was managing change, and he related many of the activities and challenges being addressed by Fort Drum to the larger North Country and Tug Hill community. Garrison Commander Colonel James Zacchino and Andrew Kennedy, Director of Plans, Training, Mobilization and Security, also joined for the evening to represent Fort Drum.



Commission Chairman Jan Bogdanowicz makes opening remarks to the audience at Zero Dock Street.



From left to right: Mickey Dietrich, RACOG Circuit Rider; Leo Paige, BOCES; Brian Taube, BOCES; Wayne McIlroy, Carthage President; Jeff Ginger, BOCES; Janet Zando, Deferiet Mayor; Chuck Meyer, BOCES; Mark Souva, Copenhagen Mayor; Katie Malinowski, Tug Hill Commission Executive Director.

The New York State Tug Hill Commission is a non-regulatory state agency charged with helping local governments, organizations, and citizens shape the future of the region, especially its environment and economy. The commission uses a grassroots approach to build local capacity and provide technical assistance in land use planning, community development, and natural resource management.